Standing Joint Legislative Committee on
Reapportionment & Redistricting

The Mississippi Legislature

The Standing Joint Congressional Redistricting Committee

The Standing Joint Legislative Committee on Reapportionment & Redistricting


Redistricting is the process by which the Legislature redraws the boundaries of congressional and legislative districts. This process follows the publication of decennial census information that should be available later in the year 2021. Redistricting is required by state and federal law, and must produce congressional districts that are equal in population. Legislative districts must have populations that are roughly equivalent in population. Because there are always population shifts within a state between censuses, some changes in district boundaries are always necessary after a census is taken. Mississippi currently maintains 122 House Districts, 52 Senate Districts, and 4 Congressional Districts.
Current MS House, MS Senate, and US Congressional Maps with Demographic Reports available in Statewide, Countywide, and Municipal geographies (.PDF and .SHP)


Staff Counsel
James F. "Ted" Booth
Staff Counsel
GIS Coordinator
Ben Collins
GIS Operations Coordinator


Representative Jim Beckett (Chair) Senator Dean Kirby (Vice-chair)
Representative Dan Eubanks Senator Hob Bryan
Representative Edward Blackmon, Jr. Senator Dennis DeBar, Jr.
Representative Bo Brown Senator Josh Harkins
Representative Kevin Ford Senator W. Briggs Hopson III
Representative Vince Mangold Senator David Parker
Representative John Read Senator Derrick T. Simmons
Representative Fred Shanks Senator Jeff Tate
Representative Cheikh Taylor Senator Angela Turner-Ford
Representative Jason White Senator Brice Wiggins